CONDER, James

1761 - 1823

Born at Mile End, London on 22 October 1761, youngest of seven sons of Revd John Conder (1714-1781) of Cambridgeshire, tutor at Homerton, and his wife Susan, daughter of John Flindell, leather merchant of Ipswich. Educated at the dissenters’ school at Ware and under Unitarian minister Mr French and, at the age of nineteen, came to Ipswich where his elder brother John lived with the Flindells and who succeeded to the Flindells’ leather business. He set up as a linen draper in Tavern Street, Ipswich, a business he sold in 1808 to Shepherd Ray and went into partnership with his sister-in-law Elizabeth Goddard trading in the Butter Market, Ipswich as Goddard and Conder, haberdashers and snuffsellers. He built up an extensive numismatic collection and his series of provincial coins was probably unique, and he himself issuing several tokens advertising his drapery business. He married on 1 January 1790 Mary Foster, third daughter of George Notcutt, haberdasher of Ipswich and had six children but only two, Mary Notcutt and James Notcutt Conder survived. He died at Ipswich, after a short illness, on 22 March 1823 and was buried in the Tacket Street Meeting-house cemetery, his wife lived with their daughter Mary [Nash] in Wymondham, Norfolk where she died in 1836 and was buried beside her husband on 16 February. Two of his watercolours of the Cornhill, Ipswich are known from a sale by his daughter Elizabeth Smyth (nee Conder).