RUSSELL, Charles J W

1815 - 1886

An Australian interior and architectural architect and he initialled a charming rural watercolour scene of early Melbourne, Collins Street East (1841), depicting a settler – presumably Russell – his wife and their two children outside their solid farmhouse greeting two young hunters. Having abandoned farming and returned to England, Russell, an architect of Ipswich, Suffolk, showed 'Chapel Viaduct on the Colchester and Stour Valley Railway' at the Royal Academy in 1848. The gold rush brought him back to Victoria, where he recorded some of the shops and shopkeepers at the Bendigo diggings. His watercolour sketches include 'Butcher’s Gully, August 22, 1853' and 'Mr. H. Hinge, Blacksmith’s Shop, Bendigo, Sept.5 1853' (both La Trobe Library), his 'London Store and Coffee House, F. Talbot, Sept.4 1853' has a tent in the background of the painting bearing the sign 'Russell – sign, inscription & ornamental writer’ and Russell in the foreground engaged in sketching two customers.